Skip Navigation

Our Twitter Feed

RSVP’s requested NOW for participation in faculty processional at Chancellor Folt’s installation, October 12th

Chair of the Faculty Jan Boxill and Faculty Marshal Valerie Ashby tonight sent the following message to the faculty:

Dear Colleagues:

In keeping with longstanding University tradition, we invite you to join other members of the University community to celebrate the University’s 220th birthday on University Day, Saturday, October 12th.  The celebration commemorates the laying of the cornerstone of Old East and the official founding of the University.  This year’s festivities are especially notable because they mark the formal installation of Dr. Carol Folt as the University’s eleventh chancellor.

The event (which will be broadcast live on UNC-TV) begins at 1:30 p.m. in Polk Place with music and at 1:45 a processional of faculty, students, staff, alumni, visiting dignitaries and other leaders.  At the 2:00 p.m. ceremony Chancellor Folt will address the community and outline her vision for the University.

If you have not previously joined the faculty procession on University Day, please do come this year.  You are welcome to wear academic regalia if you have it, but also to participate without regalia.  Participants in the faculty processional should meet at 1:00 at Memorial Hall (rain location:  Smith Center).

If you will process with us, the most important thing you need to do is to register by October 4th at  Advance registration will help greatly with planning and will entitle you to be sent, by email, a parking pass giving you access to the Bell Tower parking deck on October 12th.   Only individuals who have registered and have an email parking pass will be allowed to park in the Bell Tower deck.  Public parking and disability shuttles will run from the Smith Center beginning at 12:30pm.

As we have since 1971, the University will take this day to present its Distinguished Alumna and Alumnus Awards.  This year’s recipients are:  Stuart Bondurant, professor and dean emeritus of the UNC School of Medicine; William Easterling III, dean of the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences at The Pennsylvania State University and founding director of the Penn State Institutes of Energy and the Environment; Karol Mason, U.S. Assistant Attorney General for the Office of Justice Programs; Todd Miller, founder and executive director of the North Carolina Coastal Federation, a nonprofit organization headquartered in Ocean, N.C.; and Gary Parr, vice chairman of Lazard Ltd., a global financial advisory firm.  In addition, Bruce Cairns, professor of surgery at Carolina, will receive the Edward Kidder Graham Faculty Service Award.

Following the ceremony, there will be a reception in Polk Place. If rain is forecast, the ceremony will be moved to the Dean E. Smith Center.

Find out more details about the event at  We look forward to seeing many of you on October 12.