Skip Navigation

Our Twitter Feed

O. Max Gardner Award

About the Award

  • When presented:  April meeting of the Board of Governors each year.
  • How many awards: One award, selected from the entire UNC system.
  • Process:  The Committee on Honorary Degrees and Special Awards selects one nominee from UNC-Chapel Hill; the chancellor submits the committee’s recommendation to the Office of the President and the Board of Governors Committee on the O. Max Gardner Award.
  • Criteria:  Award goes to “that member of the faculty of the Consolidated University of North Carolina, who, during the current scholastic year, has made the greatest contribution to the welfare of the human race.” A more detailed explanation of the award, provided by UNC general administration, may be found here.
  • Eligibility:  Any person, including instructors, engaged in teaching in any unit, institution or branch of service of the Consolidated University of North Carolina.

Submit a Nomination

Please visit the “Submit Nominations” page at the left for instructions on how to submit your nomination.  The deadline to nominate someone for the 2014 award is December 1, 2013.

Past Award Recipients, 1949-

Year Name Institution Major/Field
2013 Samuel F. Sears, Jr. East Carolina Psychology
2012 Fred Gould NC State Entomology
2011 Diane M. Browder UNC-Charlotte Education
2010 Jagannathan Sankar NC A&T State Mechanical & Chemical Engineering
2009 Todd R. Klaenhammer NC State Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences
2008 Myron S. Cohen UNC-Chapel Hill Medicine, Microbiology, & Public Health
2007 Trudy F. C. Mackay NC State Genetics
2006 Ken R. Harewood NC Central Biochemistry
2005 Kenneth B. Alder NC State Pulmonary Biology
2004 W. Randolph Chitwood, Jr. East Carolina Cardiothoracic Surgery
Branislav Vlahovic NC Central Physics
2003 Bruce Spencer Weir NC State Statistics & Genetics
2002 Melissa Hayden NC School of the Arts Dance
Oliver Smithies UNC-Chapel Hill Pathology
2001 Walter J. Pories East Carolina Biochemistry
2000 Joseph M. DeSimone NC State
UNC-Chapel Hill
1999 Jim E. Riviere NC State Pharmacology
1998 B. Jayant Baliga NC State Electrical Engineering
1997 R. Wayne Skaggs NC State Agricultural Engineering
1996 Ernest Hodgson NC State Toxicology
Vira Rodgers Kivett UNC-Greensboro Gerontology
1995 James Houlik NC School of the Arts Music
1994 Gerald Shinn UNC-Wilmington Philosophy & Religion
1993 Donald W. Warren UNC-Chapel Hill Dentistry
1992 Sherwood Shaffer NC School of the Arts Music
1991 Frederick W. Harrison Western Carolina Biology
1990 Fred R. DeJarnette NC State Engineering
1989 William E. Laupus East Carolina Medicine
Louis D. Rubin, Jr. UNC-Chapel Hill Literature
1988 Floyd W. Denny, Jr. UNC-Chapel Hill Medicine
Elizabeth C. Theil NC State Biochemistry
1987 Major M. Goodman NC State Agriculture
C. Arden Miller UNC-Chapel Hill Maternal & Child Health
1986 Fred Chappell UNC-Greensboro Literature
Edgar Loessin East Carolina Theatre
1985 M. Nectai Ozisk NC State Engineering
Eric Shopler UNC-Chapel Hill Psychology
1984 James A. Bryan II UNC-Chapel Hill Medicine
Vivian T. Stannett NC State Chemistry
1983 Frank E. Gunthrie NC State Toxicology
Stanley R. Riggs East Carolina Geology
1982 Octavia B. Knight NC Central Special Education
Joseph N. Sasser NC State Plant Pathology
1981 Ellis B. Cowling NC State Plant Pathology & Forestry
Bernard . Greenberg UNC-Chapel Hill Public Health
1980 C. Clark Cockerham NC State Genetics
Judson J Van Wyk UNC-Chapel Hill Medicine
1979 Richard Bardolph UNC-Greensboro History
Solomon P. Hersh NC State Textile Engineering
1978 Carl William Gottschalk UNC-Chapel Hill Medicine
1977 C. Hugh Holman UNC-Chapel Hill Literature
1976 Eloise Rallings Lewis UNC-Greensboro History
LeRoy T. Walker NC Central Art
1975 Helen Grey Edmonds NC Central History
Francis Speight East Carolina Early Childhood Education
1974 Mary Elizabeth Keister UNC-Greensboro Early Childhood Education
1973 Ovid Williams Pierce East Carolina Literature
Cratis Dearl Williams Appalachian State Literature
1972 Bruce John Zobel NC State Forest Genetics
1971 Naomi G. Albanese UNC-Greensboro Home Economics
1970 Stanley George Stephens NC State Agriculture
1969 Henry Brandis, Jr. UNC-Chapel Hill Law
1968 John B. Graham UNC-Chapel Hill Medicine
1967 Walton Carlyle Gregory NC State Agriculture
1966 Lois Edinger UNC-Greensboro Education
1965 Raymond L. Murray NC State Science
1964 W. Reece Berryhill UNC Chapel Hill Medicine
1963 John C. Brauer UNC-Chapel Hill Dentistry
1962 Randall Jarrell UNC-Greensboro Literature
1961 Kenneth N. Brinkhous UNC-Chapel Hill Medicine
1960 Richard N. Current UNC-Greensboro History
1959 Gertrude M. Cox NC State Statistics
1958 C. Horace Hamiltom NC State Sociology
1957 Warner L. Wells UNC-Chapel Hill Medicine
1956 Mereb E. Mossman UNC-Greensboro Social Service
1955 Zeno Payne Metcalf NC State Geology & Entomology
1954 Franklin H. McNutt UNC-Greensboro Education
1953 Howard W. Odum UNC-Chapel Hill Sociology
1952 Albert Coates UNC Chapel Hill Government
1951 Donald B. Anderson NC State Science
1950 Robert E. Cooker UNC-Chapel Hill Science
1949 Louise B. Alexander UNC-Greensboro Education