Skip Navigation

Our Twitter Feed

Faculty Council & General Faculty meet Friday, February 27, 2015

Update 9:10 am, February 27, 2015:  In light of the university’s announcement that we will return to Condition 1 this afternoon, and in consultation with Chancellor Folt and Chair of the Faculty Bruce Cairns, we have decided to HOLD this meeting as originally scheduled.


The Faculty Council (and General Faculty) are set to meet this Friday, February 27, 2015, from 3:00 to 5:00 pm in the Pleasants Room at Wilson Library. At the moment, we are still “on”; however, we will be monitoring weather conditions and will let you know if anything changes.

The agenda is online here. It includes eight resolutions: two having to do with amendments to the Faculty Code, two with the recent actions of the Board of Governors, and four with the athletics/academics balance on our campus.

We will also be having a discussion of the contextualized transcript, which was demonstrated back in December. This conversation has been scheduled at the request of the student representatives on the Council.

And, as usual, there will be time to talk with Chancellor Folt and Provost Dean.

All members of the faculty are welcome to attend, and we will be live-tweeting from @UNCFacGov under the #FacCouncil hashtag.

Faculty Executive Committee calls on Board of Governors to leave decisions on centers and institutes to campuses

Legislating on behalf of Faculty Council due to the need for prompt action, the Faculty Executive Committee on Monday, February 23, 2015 adopted the following resolution:

Resolution 2015-7: On Oversight Authority of Centers and Institutes

With reference to the recent recommendations of Board of Governors’ Working Group on Centers and Institutes, and in exercise of the legislative powers of the Faculty Council pursuant to Section 2-10(d)(2) of the Faculty Code due to the need for prompt action, the Faculty Executive Committee resolves:

Section 1. Under current UNC system policy, the authority to establish and discontinue centers and institutes rests entirely with the Board of Trustees of each constituent campus, subject to the general policies set by the Board of Governors. This policy is consistent with the long-standing principle that the individual campuses, as the University’s degree-granting institutions, are best positioned to evaluate the value of such units to their respective missions. It is also consistent with our experience that creativity and innovation, essential features of a world-class university, are best encouraged in an atmosphere of intellectual freedom rooted in campus autonomy. We therefore strongly recommend that this aspect of the policy remain unchanged.

Section 2. The important work of the Center on Poverty, Work and Opportunity is consistent with UNC-Chapel Hill’s long and proud tradition of service to the state’s citizens and is entirely funded by non-state sources. In light of current policy, we respectfully ask the full Board of Governors to set aside the Working Group’s recommendation that this center be closed, and to leave that decision to UNC-Chapel Hill’s Board of Trustees.

Faculty Chair Bruce Cairns pens DTH LTE supporting Chancellor Folt

Faculty Chair Bruce Cairns wrote the following letter to the editor of the Daily Tar Heel on Friday, February 20, 2015:


During these unprecedented and challenging times, it is understandable that we focus on the difficult issues affecting our campus, including the disturbing implications of the Wainstein report, the troubled naming history of our buildings, the overall governance of the University system and ongoing concerns regarding student accessibility and affordability.

However, it is also important to remember that this University is a complex enterprise with tens of thousands of students, over 15 schools and a multi-billion dollar budget.

Since Chancellor Carol Folt arrived at UNC, she has been tirelessly engaged with students, staff, faculty and members of the community at large to address all the issues facing Carolina. The issues are challenging and sensitive and, during these times, we need a strong leader who will make tough decisions while balancing a variety of perspectives.

Most importantly, we need a leader that cares deeply about what is best for Carolina. Fortunately for us, we have such a leader in Chancellor Folt.

Bruce A. Cairns

Faculty Chairman

Storify of tweets and news from January 23, 2015 Faculty Council meeting

We’ve created a “Storify” to collect live-tweets and media coverage of the January 23, 2015 Faculty Council meeting.

The agenda for the meeting is here.


Faculty elections interest survey coming to your inbox soon!

All members of the Voting Faculty should be on the lookout for the annual Faculty Elections Interest Survey, coming to your inbox within the next week or so.  This survey provides an opportunity for you to express interest in serving on either Faculty Council or one of our more than two dozen faculty standing committees at the campus level.  Faculty governance service is a great way to learn about current issues facing higher education, to come to better understand how the university works, and to lend your voice to decision-making processes here.  The Faculty Nominating Committee draws heavily upon those who put their names forward in the annual survey to develop slates of candidates for all open offices — both elected (faculty elections held in April) and appointed.  We hope you will respond!

Useful resources: Helping Heels, Connect Carolina updates

Two useful resources have come to our attention that we thought you would like to know about:

Helping Heels Caregiver List: Child- and elder-care providers list maintained by UNC Office of Human Resources.

Connect Carolina User Information: Frustrated or confused by Connect Carolina? Updates on issues and fixes are available here.

Nominations sought for 2015 Massey Distinguished Service Awards; deadline Feb. 6

Nominations for the 2015 C. Knox Massey Distinguished Service Awards are due Feb. 6, 2015. Chancellor Carol Folt will recognize six recipients for “unusual, meritorious or superior contribution made by an employee, past or present” and the honor includes an award of $7,500. Nominations can be submitted here, or contact Carolyn Atkins, Massey Awards Committee Chair, at (919) 962-1536.

Steven Salaita to speak on academic freedom February 5 at IAH

Steven Salaita, the Palestinian American scholar who was recruited to join the faculty at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and then “dehired” due to tweets critical of Israel’s bombing of Gaza that university leadership deemed “uncivil,” will speak at Hyde Hall on Thursday, February 5 and 7:30 pm.  Prof Salaita’s talk will focus on  academic freedom, uncivil speech and uncivil acts, and censorship.  A poster with more details is here.

University posts full response to SACSCOC online

The university has posted its report responding to a November request for information from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), its regional accrediting body. The full text of the report, along with some additional context of why it was necessary, made be found here.

Chapel Hill AAUP chapter hosts discussion on strengthening faculty governance, January 29

The American Association of University Professors  (AAUP) chapter UNC-CH invites you to attend a presentation and discussion:

Never Let a Good Crisis Go to Waste: Strengthening Faculty’s Role in Governance Using AAUP Policies

Donna E. Young, Senior Program Officer and Chair of AAUP’s Committee on University Governance

Thursday, January 29, 5:00 – 6:30 PM in Donovan Lounge, Greenlaw Hall

For more information contact AAUP President Mark Driscoll ( or Vice-President Altha Cravey (